Sudan Maps and Facts – World Atlas

Sudan Maps and Facts – World Atlas

Physical map of Sudan with state borders.  It shows the natural characteristics of Sudan, including its terrain, mountain ranges, plateaus, deserts, river systems, and major cities.




central african republic

democratic republic of the congo






saudi arabia

red sea

libyan desert


nubian desert

south sudan

large sudan map

Sudan is the third largest country in Africa with an area of ​​1,886,068 square kilometers. Sudan shares borders with its seven neighbours: South Sudan, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Egypt, Libya, Chad and the Central African Republic. Sudan also has a large coastline along the Red Sea. This narrow strip of water provides vital access to the Indian Ocean as well as the Mediterranean Sea via the Suez Canal. Much of Sudan consists of deserts and barren grasslands with little vegetation. Huge plains and plateaus cover most of the country.

The central plain of the country can be divided into three regions according to topography. The northern part of this plain is a primarily rocky desert area called the Nubian Desert (shown on the map). The southern central part is a clay plain while the western part is characterized by a desert area covered by sand dunes.

Nile River Valley It is perhaps the country’s most important geographical feature. The Nile River has long been the beating heart of this part of the world. Plenty of arable land and permanent settlements can be found along the shores of the Nile including the capital, Khartoum. The Nile River and its tributaries flow from south to north and drain most of the country. The river enters Sudan as the White Nile and then joins the Blue Nile (from the Ethiopian Plateau) at Khartoum to form the Nile River.

Bitter mountains It originates from the Darfur plateau in the west. This region of Sudan hosts the country’s highest peak, the 3,042-metre-high Deriba Crater. This part of Sudan is not particularly hospitable and very few people live there. To the north of the Marra Mountains lies the Libyan Desert, which is the largest in Sudan.

Red Sea Hills It is located along the eastern edge of the county. This area consists of rugged hills cut by fast-moving streams. A narrow coastal plain lies to the east of this mountainous region along the Red Sea. Sudan consists mainly of vast plains and plateaus drained by the Nile River and its tributaries. This river system runs from south to north across the entire eastern-central part of the country.

Map of Sudan states

As observed in the map above, the Republic of Sudan includes 18 states or states. In alphabetical order, these are Blue Nile, Central Darfur, East Darfur, Gedaref, Gezira, Kassala, Khartoum, North Darfur, North Kordofan, North, Red Sea, Nile River, Sennar, South Darfur, South Kordofan, West Darfur, West Kordofan. . And the White Nile.

Before July 9, 2011, Sudan consisted of 25 states. 10 of these states were ceded to the newly formed state of South Sudan, resulting in Sudan having only 15 states. In 2012, two new states were created within the territory of Sudan, and a third state was created in 2013. Thus, the total number of states in the country now stands at 18.

The country also has an area with special administrative status called the Abyei Area. It is located on the border between Sudan and South Sudan. Khartoum is the capital of the country.

Where is Sudan?

A map showing Sudan's location in the world.

Europe Middle East Africa Atlantic Ocean Atlantic Ocean Mediterranean Sea Arabian Sea Indian Ocean Tropic of Capricorn Equator Prime Meridian Tropic of Cancer Africa

Sudan is a country in northeastern Africa. It is located in the northern and eastern hemispheres of the Earth. Sudan is bordered by seven countries. It is bordered by Egypt to the north. It has borders with Libya and Chad to the northwest and west, respectively. To the south and southeast lie South Sudan and Ethiopia respectively while Eritrea borders Sudan to the east. The northeastern border consists of the Red Sea.

Countries neighboring Sudan: Central African Republic, Egypt, Ethiopia, South Sudan, Eritrea, Libya, Chad, Mongolia.

Regional maps: African map

Map of Sudan

Key facts

Legal name Republic of Sudan
Sudan's flag
Capital Khartoum
15 36 n, 32 32 e
The total area 1,861,484.00 km2
Land area 1,731,671.00 km2
Water area 129,813.00 km2
population 42,813,238

Major cities

  1. Al-Khartum (Khartoum) (6,344,348)
  2. On (1,056,952)
  3. Al Obeid (Al Ubayyid) (525,802)
  4. Port Sudan (Mainland) (517,191)
  5. Wad Medani (404,105)
  6. Kassala (389,069)
  7. Al Gadarif (386,181)
currency Sudanese Pound (SDG)
gross domestic product $18.90 billion
GDP per capita $441.51

This page was last updated on December 17, 2023

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *