Reminder: Google is about to start removing inactive accounts

Reminder: Google is about to start removing inactive accounts

If you have an old Google Account that you want to keep but haven’t used in the past two years, you’ll need to sign in to it soon to prevent it from being deleted under Google’s inactive accounts policy. The new rules were announced in May, when Google said the soonest it could start deleting accounts was December 2023. Google has since begun emailing affected users telling them that accounts will be eligible for deletion starting December 1.

To be clear, Google hasn’t said it will delete every eligible account starting Friday. The company says it plans to take a phased approach, “starting with accounts that were created and never used again.” But now seems like as good a time as any to make sure your old accounts are in order so you don’t risk losing important data.

In many cases, just logging in should be enough to keep your Google account active for another two years. Google also says that reading or sending an email, using Google Drive, watching a YouTube video, downloading an app from the Google Play Store, using Google Search, or using Sign in with Google to sign in to a third-party service are all things These are considered activities within the Inactive Accounts Policy.

Once you’re logged in, it’s a good idea to make sure you have a recovery email address linked to your account and accessible. This is because Google says it will send multiple notifications to both affected Google accounts as well as their recovery email addresses to warn of the impending deletion.

Although logging into your Google account should generally be enough to prevent deletion for two years, you’ll need to sign in to Google Photos specifically if you want to prevent content stored on that service from being deleted. The search giant says it “reserves the right to delete data in a product if you have been inactive in that product for at least two years,” under a policy dating back to 2020. However, accounts containing YouTube videos will not be deleted, and Delete it. Will accounts with active subscriptions associated with them.

When it announced the new policy in May, Google said it had changed its policies for security reasons, noting that old and unused accounts were more likely to be at risk. “Forgotten or unmonitored accounts often rely on old or reused passwords that may have been compromised, don’t have two-factor authentication set up, and receive fewer security checks from the user,” Ruth Criscelli, vice president of product management at Google, wrote in Company blog post.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *