Philippines Maps and Facts – World Atlas

Philippines Maps and Facts – World Atlas

Physical map of the Philippines.  It shows the physical features of the Philippines including mountain ranges, major rivers and lakes.

The Philippines, an archipelago in Southeast Asia, is located in the western Pacific Ocean. It shares maritime borders with Vietnam to the west, Taiwan to the north, Palau to the east, and Malaysia and Indonesia to the south. The area of ​​the archipelago is about 300 thousand square kilometers2 (about 115,830 miles2). The geographic profile of the Philippines can be broadly divided into three regions: Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao.

Luzon, the largest and most populous island in the Philippines, located in the northern part of the country. The northern part of Luzon features rugged terrain dominated by the Central Cordillera Mountain Range, including Mount Pulag, the country’s second highest peak. The Sierra Madre mountain range runs along the eastern coast of Luzon, providing a natural buffer against hurricanes coming in from the Pacific Ocean. The central region of Luzon, known as the Central Plains, contains fertile farmland and many rivers, including the country’s longest river, the Cagayan River. The Bicol Peninsula to the southeast displays a mixture of flatlands and mountainous areas, particularly hosting Mayon Volcano, one of the country’s most active volcanoes.

VisayasThe central region of the Philippines, consisting of several islands surrounded by the Philippine Sea to the east, the Sulu Sea to the west, and the Visayan Sea in the middle. The region consists of three main island groups: Western Visayas, Central Visayas, and Eastern Visayas. It shows a mixture of mountainous terrain, coastal lowlands and hills. Panay Island in Western Visayas is characterized by its central mountain range and fertile plains. Central Visayas includes Cebu Island, the country’s most densely populated island, and Bohol Island, known for the Chocolate Hills, a geological formation of more than a thousand hills. Eastern Visayas, home to Samar and Leyte, offers a landscape dominated by broad mountain ranges, narrow coastal plains, and low, rolling hills.

MindanaoThe second largest island in the Philippines, it is centered on the southern region of the country. It features a wide range of landscapes from mountainous regions, such as the Diwata Mountain Range in the east and the Kitanglad Mountain Range in the north, to fertile valleys, such as the Bukidnon-Lanao Plateau and the Cotabato Valley. The area also includes the country’s highest peak, Mount Apo. The island is divided almost equally into coastal lowlands and inland highlands, the former being suitable for agricultural activities.

Waterbodies: The Philippine Sea, a marginal sea in the western Pacific Ocean, lies to the east and north of the archipelago. On the western side, the South China Sea provides a natural maritime border. Internally, the country contains Laguna de Bay, the largest lake, located in Luzon, and Lake Lanao in Mindanao, the second largest. Both lakes serve vital roles in providing hydroelectric power, irrigation and drinking water.

The archipelago has an extensive river system. The Cagayan River in Luzon, the longest in the country, begins in the Caraballo Mountains and empties into the Babuyan Channel. The Pasig River, which flows through the capital, Manila, connects Laguna de Bay to Manila Bay. In Mindanao, the Rio Grande de Mindanao and the Agusan River are major river systems, vital for agriculture, fishing and transportation.

carrot: The two largest islands in the Philippines include more than 7,600 islands: Luzon and Mindanao. In the Visayas Islands, notable islands include Cebu, Bohol, and Negros. The country also has several important small islands, such as Palawan to the west of Visayas, known for its biodiversity, and Boracay, internationally recognized for its white sand beaches. The Spratly Islands, a group of islands and reefs in the South China Sea, are part of the Philippines’ territorial disputes with several neighboring countries.

Administrative map of the Philippines

The Philippines (officially the Republic of the Philippines) is administratively divided into 17 regions, 81 provinces, 146 cities, 1,488 municipalities, and 42,036 barangays.

The 81 provinces in alphabetical order are: Abra, North Agusan, South Agusan, Aklan, Albay, Antique, Apayao, Aurora, Basilan, Bataan, Batanes, Batangas, Biliran, Benguet, Bohol, Bukidnon, Bulacan, Cagayan, North Camarines, Camarines . South, Camiguin, Capiz, Catanduanes, Cavite, Cebu, Compostela, Cotabato, North Davao, South Davao, West Davao, Davao Oriental, Dinagat Islands, Eastern Samar, Guimaras, Ifugao, Isabela, Kalinga, Laguna, Lanao, La Union, Leyte , Maguindanao, Marinduque, Masbate, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Mountain, Negros Occidental, Negros Oriental, Northern Samar, Nueva Ecija, New Vizcaya, Palawan, Pampanga, Pangasinan, Quezon, Quirino, Rizal, Romblon, Samar, Sarangani, Siquijor, Sorsogon, South Cotabato, South Leyte, Sultan Kudarat, Sulu, North Surigao, South Surigao, Tarlac, Tawi-Tawi, Zambales, Zamboanga City, Zamboanga City Sibugay;

Covering a total area of ​​300,000 square kilometers, the Philippines is an archipelagic country located in Southeast Asia. Manila is located in the southwestern part of the island of Luzon, along the eastern coast of Manila Bay, and is the capital of the Philippines. It serves as the main administrative, political, social, cultural and economic center of the country. Located in the heart of Luzon Island, northeast of Manila, Quezon City is the largest and most populous city in the Philippines. Both Manila and Quezon City are part of Metro Manila, the national capital region of the Philippines. Metro Manila serves as the seat of government of the Philippines.

Where is the Philippines located?

A map showing the location of the Philippines in the world.

arctic ocean pacific ocean indian ocean australia oceania tropic of capricorn tropic of cancer arctic circle equator africa europe black sea caspian aral sea red sea gulf of aden bay of bengal arabian sea middle east mediterranean sea asia

The Philippines is located on the western edge of the Pacific Ocean, along the Ring of Fire, and is the second countrySecond abbreviation The largest archipelago in the world, containing more than 7,641 individual islands. Geographically it is located in the Northern and Eastern Hemispheres. The Philippines is surrounded by the South China Sea to the north and west. via the Philippine Sea to the east; by the Celebes Sea to the south; And through the Sulu Sea to the southwest. The Philippines shares its maritime borders with Indonesia, China, Japan, Palau, Malaysia, Vietnam, and Taiwan.

Regional maps: Map of Asia

Outline map of the Philippines

Key facts

Legal name Republic of the Philippines
Flag of the Philippines
Capital Manila
14 36N, 120 58E
The total area 300,000.00 km2
Land area 298,170.00 km2
Water area 1,830.00 km2
population 108,116,615

Major cities

  1. Manila (14,667,089)
  2. Davao City (1,949,400)
  3. Cebu City (1,024,946)
  4. Zamboanga City (960,349)
  5. Antipolo (946,653)
  6. Cagayan de Oro City (803,194)
  7. Dasmariñas (802,600)
  8. Bacoor (739,682)
  9. General Santos City (691,945)
  10. Bacolod (648,773)
currency Philippine Peso (PHP)
gross domestic product $376.80 billion
GDP per capita $3,485.08

This page was last updated on July 17, 2023

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *