Odegaard and Saka are nominated for the Ballon d’Or | News

Bukayo Saka and Martin Odegaard’s impressive season was once again recognized in the 2022/23 season as the pair were nominated for the prestigious Ballon d’Or.

The award, widely regarded as the game’s most prestigious individual award, sees journalists from around the world cast their votes to crown the FIFA World Player of the Year each season, and has been awarded since 1956.

For the 2023 edition, Martin and Bucayo are included in the 30-man shortlist along with some of the biggest stars in the sport.

Meanwhile, Aaron Ramsdale has also garnered recognition by being nominated for the Yashin Award, which has been awarded to the best goalkeeper since its inception in 2019.

Martin’s fine season last season saw recognition for him, after our captain scored 15 goals in the Premier League – the first midfielder to score that tally in a single season for us in the competition’s history since Cesc Fàbregas in 2009/10 – and he contributed seven assists to assist us. Challenge the title to the final weeks.

He did not lack individual accolades last season, having been named Premier League Player of the Month for November/December, along with being nominated for the Division’s Player of the Year award.

Bukayo enjoyed an equally impressive season, scoring 15 goals and providing 11 assists. He was recently crowned Premier League Young Player of the Year for the 2022/23 season, and his achievements at the 2022 World Cup, where he scored three goals during England’s run to the quarter-finals, earned him the England Player of the Year award. The second season in a row.

The duo was also named to the PFA Team of the Season along with Aaron, who received his first nomination for the Yashin Award, named after the famous Soviet Union goalkeeper Lev Yashin.

Our keeper has kept 15 clean sheets in all competitions in 41 appearances and was part of the England squad that competed in Qatar during the World Cup. Only Golden Glove winner David De Gea kept more clean sheets in the Premier League last season.

Two members of our women’s team were also recognized, with Katie McCabe and Amanda Ellistite being nominated for the Women’s Ballon d’Or, to which Beth Maid finished second last year.

The winners will be revealed during a ceremony to be held on October 30th at the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris.

Full list of candidates

Kim Min Jae (Napoli and Bayern Munich)
Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain)
Victor Osimhen (Napoli)
Harry Kane (Tottenham and Bayern Munich)
Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain and Inter Miami)
Rodri (Man City)
Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan)
Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)
Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona)
Julian Alvarez (Man City)
Yassine Bounou (Sevilla and Al Hilal)
Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid)
Ilkay Gundogan (Manchester City and Barcelona)
Martin Odegaard (Arsenal)
Erling Haaland (Man City)
Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan)
Ruben Dias (Man City)
Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa)
Khvica Kvaratskhelia (Napoli)
Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)
Randall Kolo Mwani (Eintracht Frankfurt and Paris Saint-Germain)
Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund and Real Madrid)
Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich)
Karim Benzema (Real Madrid and Al-Ittihad)
Andre Onana (Inter Milan and Manchester United)
Josko Guardiol (Leipzig and Manchester City)

Copyright 2023 Arsenal Football Club Limited. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted provided appropriate credit is given to www.arsenal.com as the source.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: