Nigeria Maps and Facts – World Atlas

Nigeria Maps and Facts – World Atlas

Physical map of Nigeria with state boundaries.  The map shows physical features such as terrain, highest peak, major rivers, lakes, major cities, etc.





burkina faso


atlantic ocean

large map of nigeria

Nigeria is located in West Africa, bordered by the Republic of Benin to the west, Chad and Cameroon to the east, and Niger to the north. To the south, the coastline extends for about 853 kilometers (530 mi) along the Gulf of Guinea in the Atlantic Ocean. Its total area is about 923,769 km22 (356,669 mi2), Nigeria occupies an important position on the African continent.

Northern savanna: The northern part of Nigeria is mostly characterized by a wide savanna area. This area remains characterized by scattered pastures, trees and shrubs, which constitute an ideal environment for grazing livestock and growing grains. As one moves north, the savanna transitions into the Sahel, a semi-arid region that acts as a transition zone between the dry Sahara Desert in the north and the savanna in the south. The Sahel region experiences sporadic and unpredictable rainfall, which contributes to its inherently arid nature. Agriculture in this region revolves primarily around hardy crops that are resistant to drought and extensive grazing.

Central highlandsTowards the central region of the country, a series of highlands appear, including the Jos Plateau. This plateau, about 1,295 meters (4,250 feet) high, is known for its unique rock formations and abundant mineral resources. Tin mining is an important activity in this area. The region’s moderate climate and rich volcanic soil also promote the growth of a variety of crops, including vegetables, fruits and tubers.

Guinea Savannah: Moving south from the highlands, Nigeria shows a transition into the Guinean savannah, a belt of tropical grasslands. This area experiences more rainfall than the northern savannah, allowing for the growth of taller grasses and more densely populated trees. The region is also the mainstay of Nigeria’s agricultural economy, with yam, cassava and maize cultivation dominating the agricultural landscape. The eastern section also contains Chabal Wadi, the highest peak in Nigeria at 2,419 metres.

Rainforest belt: Southward, Nigeria moves into the rainforest belt. This area is characterized by abundant rainfall, high humidity, and lush vegetation that includes various species of hardwood trees. The rainforest belt has suffered widespread deforestation due to logging and conversion of forest land to agricultural uses. However, they still play a crucial role in the supply of timber and other non-wood forest products.

Niger Delta: Nigeria’s coastal region, also known as the Niger Delta region, is characterized by mangrove forests, swamps and lagoons. The Niger River, the country’s most important waterway, and its tributaries, flow into the Atlantic Ocean through this delta. The delta is highly populated and forms the heart of Nigeria’s oil industry. However, this has led to significant environmental challenges, including oil spills and land degradation.

Waterbodies: In terms of bodies of water, the Niger River and its main tributary, the Benue River, dominate Nigeria’s water landscape. The Niger River, which originates in the Guinea Highlands, flows through Nigeria before emptying into the Gulf of Guinea.

In the southern part of the country, and along the coast, there are many small islands, the most prominent of which is Lagos Island, where one of Nigeria’s largest cities is located.

Nigeria states map

Nigeria has 36 states and a federal capital territory. In alphabetical order, the states are as follows: Abia, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Edo, Ekiti, Enugu, Gombe, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe, Zamfara.

The states are also divided into 774 local government areas.

The Federal Capital Territory is located in Abuja, the national capital of Nigeria.

Where is Nigeria located?

A map showing Nigeria's location in the world.

Europe Middle East Africa Atlantic Ocean Atlantic Ocean Mediterranean Sea Arabian Sea Indian Ocean Tropic of Capricorn Equator Prime Meridian Tropic of Cancer Tunisia

Nigeria is a country in West Africa located in the northern and eastern hemispheres of the Earth. It is bordered by four countries. These are Niger, Chad, Cameroon and Benin in the north, northeast, east and west respectively. Nigeria also has a coastline on the Gulf of Guinea.

Countries bordering Nigeria: Cameroon, Chad, Niger, Benin.

Regional maps: African map

Outline map of nigeria

Key facts

Legal name Federal Republic of Nigeria
Flag of Nigeria
Capital Abuja
05 9N, 32 7E
The total area 923,768.00 km2
Land area 910,768.00 km2
Water area 13,000.00 km2
population 200,963,599

Major cities

  1. Lagos (15,945,912)
  2. Kano (4,348,481)
  3. Ibadan (3,874,908)
  4. Abuja (3,839,646)
  5. Port Harcourt (3,480,101)
  6. Benin City (1,904,631)
  7. Onitsha (1,623,382)
  8. Oyo (1,329,284)
  9. Women (1,239,186)
  10. ABA (1,188,803)
currency Naira (NGN)
gross domestic product $448.12 billion
GDP per capita $2,229.86

This page was last updated on July 31, 2023

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *