Maps and facts of Tunisia – World Atlas

Maps and facts of Tunisia – World Atlas

Physical map of Tunisia with state borders.  It shows the natural features of Tunisia including mountain ranges, rivers, major lakes, the relative location of major cities, and more.

mediterranean sea

sahara desert


Tunisia is a North African country with a total area of ​​163,610 square kilometers and a coastline of 1,148 kilometers on the Mediterranean Sea to the north. Tunisia is located next to only two other countries. Algeria and Libya. Although it is not directly connected, Tunisia is only a few hundred kilometers from southern European countries such as Italy and Malta. Although it is roughly the same size as Wisconsin, Tunisia’s north-south extension offers great ecological diversity.

Tunisian Dhahria It is a mountain range extending in the southwest and northeast direction from the Tunisian border with Algeria in the west to the Cape Bon Peninsula in the east. This mountain is an extension of the Saharan Atlas Mountains. To the north of Tunisia’s Dhahriya, the North Hill Mountains can be found (which include the Kromiri Mountains in the northwest and the Mojoud Mountains that run along the northern coast). The high steppe (in the west) and low steppe (in the east) lie to the south of Tunisia’s Dhahrali region. It is intersected by mountains extending from north to south. Mount Shampi (1544 m) is the highest point in the country. At 17 meters below sea level, Chott el-Jerid is the lowest point in Tunisia.

Abstract river The valley is located between Tunisia’s Dhahria Mountains and the northern Tal Mountains (as shown in the map above). This valley includes a series of ancient lake basins, and is the most fertile land for grain production in the country. The Medjerda River is the only permanent river in Tunisia and empties into the Gulf of Tunisia. As we go south, there is a series of depressions called the Shatt. Many intermittent rivers flowing through the country end in these basins. Large plains called the Sahel and Al-Jifara extend inland from the eastern coast.

Sand sea in the Sahara desertIt is also called the Great Oriental Erg and covers most of the southern part of Tunisia. Most of the valleys here remain dry throughout the year, so access to water is a major concern here. Tunisia also has several islands. The island of Djerba shown on the map above is the largest island in North Africa. Located in the Gulf of Gabes

Map of Tunisia governorates

Tunisia has 24 main administrative divisions called governorates. They are in alphabetical order as follows: Ariana, Beja (Beja), Ben Arous (Ben Arous), Bizerte (Bizerte), Gabès (Gabès), Gafsa (Gafsa), Jendouba (Jendouba), Kairouan (Kairouan), Kasserine (Kasserine). , Kebili (Kebili), Kef (Kef), Ariana (Ariana), Mahdia (Mahdia), Manouba (Manouba), Medenine (Medenine), Monastir (Monastir), Nabeul (Nabeul). , Sfax (Sfaxien), Sidi Bouzid (Sidi Bouzid), Siliana (Siliana), Sousse (Sousse), Tataouine (Tataouine), Tozeur (Tozeur), Tunisia, Zaghouan (Zaghouan).

The governorates are also divided into 264 regions called delegations, which are also divided into smaller administrative divisions called sheikhs or municipalities and mayors or sectors. Tataouine is the largest governorate in Tunisia in terms of area, and Tunisia is the largest in terms of population but the smallest in terms of area. The capital of this province, Tunis, is also the national capital.

Where is Tunisia located?

A map showing Tunisia's location in the world.

Europe Middle East Africa Atlantic Ocean Atlantic Ocean Mediterranean Sea Arabian Sea Indian Ocean Tropic of Capricorn Equator Prime Meridian Tropic of Cancer Tunisia

Tunisia is located in the Maghreb region of North Africa, and hosts the northernmost point of the African continent called Cape Angela. Tunisia is located in the northern and eastern hemisphere. It is bordered by only two neighboring countries. Libya borders Tunisia to the southeast and Algeria to the west and southwest. The country has a coastline on the Mediterranean Sea to the north and east.

Countries bordering Tunisia: Libya, Algeria.

Regional maps: African map

Outline map of Tunisia

Key facts

Legal name Republic of Tunisia
Tunisia flag
Capital Tunisia
36 48 n, 10 11 e
The total area 163,610.00 km2
Land area 155,360.00 km2
Water area 8,250.00 km2
population 11,694,719

Major cities

  1. Tunisia (2,475,446)
  2. Sfax (650,405)
currency Tunisian Dinar (TND)
gross domestic product $38.80 billion
GDP per capita $3,317.54

This page was last updated on December 18, 2023

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *