Maps and facts of Libya – World Atlas

Maps and facts of Libya – World Atlas

A physical map of Libya showing the country's borders, terrain, highest point, important cities, the desert and its sandy seas.






mediterranean sea

sahara desert

libyan desert

Tropic of Cancer

Libya is located in North Africa, and is bordered by the Mediterranean Sea to the north, Egypt to the east, Sudan to the southeast, Chad to the south, Niger to the southwest, Algeria to the west, and Tunisia to the northwest. Its area is about 1,676,198 km22 (647,184 mi2). Tripoli is the capital, located in the Tripoli District. Finally, it should be noted that Libya possesses one of the largest oil reserves in Africa and is a large oil producing country, containing other significant resources. The country is divided into three geographical regions: Cyrenaica, Tripolitania, and Fezzan.

gentlyIn the eastern part of Libya lies the Cyrenaica region. This area is dominated by the Jebel Akhdar, or Green Mountains, rising from the Mediterranean coast inland. The range’s name derives from its relatively fertile lands, which contrast with much of Libya’s arid landscape. In Cyrenaica, one can find the highest point in Libya: Beko Biti, which is 2,267 meters (about 7,436 feet) above sea level.

TripoliTo the west of Cyrenaica lies the Tripoli region, one of the three historical regions in Libya. The Tripoli region is characterized by a coastal plain that extends south into hills and plateaus. The coastline of the area consists mainly of rocky and sandy beaches. It also includes the Nafusa Mountains, which extend near the western border of Libya and form a large part of its landscape.

Fezzan: The southern part of Libya is occupied by the Fezzan region, which is primarily characterized by its desert landscape. This area is dominated by sand dunes, rocky plateaus and vast areas of arid land. The Ubari Sand Sea, one of Fezzan’s magnificent landmarks, represents a vast expanse of sand dunes and erg. However, within this desert terrain one can find Sabkhat Ghazil, the lowest point in Libya, located 47 meters (about 154 feet) below sea level.

Bodies of water and rivers: Libya’s location on the Mediterranean Sea affects its climate and geographical characteristics. While the country’s coastline extends about 1,770 kilometers (1,100 mi), Libya has no permanent rivers, due to its mostly desert landscape. Its most important temporary river is the Wadi al-Hayat, which flows through the Fezzan region around October during the rainy season. In addition, there are many oases spread throughout Libya, which serve as a vital source of water in the desert. Among the prominent oases are the oases of Ghat, Sabha and Kufra.

In terms of irrigation, one of Libya’s defining features is the Great Man-Made River, a network of pipes that supplies water from the Sahara Desert to coastal cities. This project is one of the largest irrigation projects in the world and is essential for Libya’s water supply.

Map of Libya’s governorates

As per the CIA World Factbook, Libya has 22 governorates. In alphabetical order, these are: Al Butnan, Al Jabal al Akhdar, Al Jabal al Gharbi, Al Jafarah, Al Jufrah, Al Kufrah, Al Marj, Al Marqab, Al Wahat, An Nuqat al Khams, Az Zawiyah, Banghazi (Benghazi) , Darnah, Ghat, Misratah, Murzuq, Nalut, Sabha, Surt, Tarabulus (Tripoli), Wadi al Hayat, Wadi ash Shati.

Tripoli is the capital of the country.

Where is Libya?

A map showing Libya's location in the world.

Europe Middle East Africa Atlantic Ocean Atlantic Ocean Mediterranean Sea Arabian Sea Indian Ocean Tropic of Capricorn Equator Prime Meridian Tropic of Cancer Libya

Libya is a country located in the Maghreb region in North Africa. It is bordered by five countries. These are Egypt, Sudan, Chad, Niger, Algeria, and Tunisia to the east, southeast, south, southwest, west, and northwest, respectively. The country also has a coastline on the Mediterranean Sea to the north. Libya is located in the northern and eastern hemispheres.

Countries bordering Libya: Egypt, Sudan, Chad, Tunisia, Niger, Algeria.

Regional maps: African map

Outline map of Libya

Key facts

Legal name State of Libya
Flag of Libya
Capital Tripoli (Tripoli)
32 53 n, 13 10 e
The total area 1,759,540.00 km2
Land area 1,759,540.00 km2
Water area nothing
population 6,777,452

Major cities

  1. Tripoli (Tripoli) (1,183,292)
  2. Misratah (984,193)
  3. Benghazi (859,209)
currency Libyan dinar (acoustic)
gross domestic product $52.08 billion
GDP per capita $7,683.75

This page was last updated on October 23, 2023

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *