Here are 20 states exploring support for digital Apple IDs in Wallet

Here are 20 states exploring support for digital Apple IDs in Wallet

One of the anticipated features announced at WWDC in 2021 was support for storing IDs in the Apple Wallet app. Described by Apple as the last step before you’re “completely free of your physical wallet,” the feature is still only supported by a small number of states.

However, there are now more than 20 countries working on adopting digital identities for citizens…

Which countries will support digital IDs?

TSA is currently running a pilot program to accept digital IDs at some airports. Apple said the TSA is “working to enable” airport security checkpoints as “the first place you can use your digital identity.”

As of today, only four states have launched support for digital IDs via Apple Wallet on iPhone and Apple Watch: Arizona, Colorado, Maryland, and Georgia. You can find more details about those countries and their implementation details here.

Digital IDs are also currently in a pilot program in California, but the system does not integrate with Apple’s system. Instead, the entire program is managed via a standalone app.

According to data collected by the Secure Technology Alliance, more than 20 states are in the process of adopting mobile digital licenses. While this doesn’t necessarily mean that they will continue to support the Apple Wallet app for this feature, it does mean that they are exploring the idea.

Here is the complete list of those states:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • illinois
  • Indiana
  • yeah
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Wyoming

province: Washington, D.C. and Puerto Rico

Last updated February 8, 2024: Michigan, Minnesota, Pennsylvania and Texas, which the Secure Technology Alliance says do not meet the criteria, have been removed.

According to the Secure Technology Alliance, to be included on the list, a country must meet at least one of the following criteria:

  • Provides interoperability across operating systems
  • Interoperable implementation is in progress
  • Experimental activities
  • Legislation issued and/or study activity
  • Implementation that does not comply with ISO standards
  • Other mobile activities

The progress of these efforts varies from one country to another. In some states, it’s as basic as legislation being introduced to support digital IDs. In other states, there has simply been “activity” regarding such adoptions. Additionally, delays are to be expected anytime Apple works on a country-by-country basis with individual governments.

Apple said the following countries are committed to supporting: that it Implement digital IDs in Wallet. You’ll notice that there are differences between Apple’s list and the Secure Technology Alliance’s list, which illustrates the complexity of the rollout.

  • Connecticut
  • Hawaii
  • yeah
  • Kentucky
  • Mississippi
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Utah

You can view a fully interactive map on the Secure Technology Alliance website here, with more details on the status of these talks in the US and Canada.

Follow the opportunity: threads, TwitterAnd Instagram and Mastodon.

FTC: We use automatic affiliate links to earn income. more.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *