Cowboy’s Micah Parsons defends NFL Defensive Player of the Year Mys Garrett Award; Thoughts of runner-up TJ Watt

Cowboy’s Micah Parsons defends NFL Defensive Player of the Year Mys Garrett Award;  Thoughts of runner-up TJ Watt

LAS VEGAS – Micah Parsons, one of five nominees for this year’s AP NFL Defensive Player of the Year award, defended Myles Garrett against the Barstool Sports on X personality who objected to him winning the coveted award.

“Another NFL RIG JOB!!!,” @Jerrythekid21 posted on X. “Imagine looking at this and giving the guy on the left the award because he ‘never won it.’

“Jersey Jerry,” as he’s known on Barstool and other platforms, posted a chart with photos of Garrett, Pittsburgh’s TJ Watt and Parsons, with their stats underneath. Garrett, who received 23 of 50 first-place votes to Watt’s 19 and was outscored 165 to 140 (see below) finished tied for seventh in the NFL with Parsons with 14 sacks, while Watt led the NFL American with 19.0. Watt also led the trio in tackles (68), tackles for loss (19), pressures (50), and fumble recoveries (3).

But Garrett, who had never received a first-place vote before this year, was second in the NFL only to Parsons in rushing win rate (30%) and double teams (29%) according to ESPN Analytics. Watt ranked fourth in pass rush win rate and in the middle of the pack in double teams at 14%. Garrett also led the Browns to a No. 1 ranking in defense.

“Awful shot!!” Parsons posted on

But Watt, who won the 2021 NFL Defensive Player of the Year award when he led the NFL with 22.5 sacks to tie Michael Strahan’s record, did not attend the honors ceremony and expressed his displeasure with X.

“Nothing I’m not used to,” he posted on X Before the show, when word had already spread that Garrett had won.

But those who know Garrett best begged to differ.

“He deserves it,” Joe Flacco told “There’s no one better.”

“Myles Garrett, Defensive Player of the Year. Hopefully it will be the first of many,” Browns general manager Andrew Berry said. “We are very proud of him. We see how hard he works every day. He represents our city and our franchise at such a high level. It’s not just what he does on the field, but what he does off the field as well. He’s obviously as dominant as a force as he is in the entire league and we’re very proud of him.

Garrett, accompanied by family and friends, enjoyed the night despite some backlash.

“The moment couldn’t be better,” he told “I am. I am just happy to be in the presence of greatness and with good people everywhere.

He was one of four Browns to win AP NFL Awards that night: Kevin Stefanski won Coach of the Year, Joe Flacco won Player of the Year, and defensive coordinator Jim Schwartz won Coach of the Year.

Here’s how they voted, by 50 electors across the country as identified by the Associated Press:

Myles Garrett 23-13-11 = 165

TGW 19-11-12 = 140

Micah Parsons 7-16-6 = 89

Maxx Crosby 0-5-6 = 21

Daron Bland 1-2-3 = 14

Antoine Winfield Jr. 0-2-1 = 7

Fred Warner 0-1-4 = 7

Roquan Smith 0-0-4 = 4

Khalil Mack 0-0-1 = 1

Justin Madubuike 0-0-1 = 1

Dexter Lawrence 0-0-1 = 1

First place: 5 points

Second place: 3 points

Third place: 1 point

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *