Cayman Islands maps and facts

Cayman Islands maps and facts

Physical map of the Cayman Islands showing topography, Caribbean Sea, Northern Sounds, important settlements, etc.

caribbean sea

large cayman islands map

caribbean sea

The Cayman Islands consist of three distinct and separate islands. Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac, and Little Cayman. The Cayman Islands is not a self-governing country but rather a British Overseas Territory. In total, the islands cover a small area of ​​only 264 square kilometres. Located in the Caribbean Sea, the islands enjoy warm, sunny weather all year round except for the odd tropical storm here and there.

Cayman Ridge It is a massive underwater mountain range that is responsible for the formation of islands. The islands are themselves the peaks of this ridgeline. These peaks barely break the surface and surround the Cayman Basin extending from the Sierra Maestra to the Misteriosa Bank.

Cayman Brac and Little Cayman They are located close to each other and only about 135 kilometers apart. The geographical features of these two islands are typical of others in the Caribbean. Low limestone bases surrounded by coral reefs dominate the coastline with a few ridges and peaks closer to the interior of the islands. The highest point in the Cayman Islands is the area known as The Bluff, a limestone hill 155 feet (47 m) high; It is located in the eastern part of the second largest island – Cayman Brac. The lowest point is the Caribbean Sea (0 m). Together, the Cayman Islands have a coastline of 99 miles (159 km).

Kyle’s grandfatherIt is the largest and most populated island. The capital, Georgetown, as well as other towns and villages can be found here. The large natural bay of North Sound is the largest and most visible feature here. Not far from here is the rocky, jagged area of ​​Rum Point as well as the tranquil Seven Mile Beach.

Cayman islands map regions

The British Overseas Territory of the Cayman Islands is administratively divided into 6 provinces. These areas are Bodden Town, Cayman Brac, Little Cayman, East End, Georgetown, Northside, and West Bay.

Covering an area of ​​264 square kilometres, the three island groups of Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac, and Little Cayman together make up the territory of the Cayman Islands. Located on the island of Grand Cayman, George Town is the capital and largest city of the Cayman Islands. It is the center of administrative and financial services for the island state.

Where are the Cayman Islands located?

Map showing the location of the Cayman Islands in the world.

bahamas florida gulf of mexico mexico jamaica dominican republic st. vincent and the grenadines grenada central america atlantic ocean atlantic ocean usa honduras nicaragua panama caribbean sea pacific ocean puerto rico south america trinidad and tobago colombia barbados

The three island groups of Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac, and Little Cayman together form the British Overseas Territory of the Cayman Islands, which is located in the northwestern Caribbean Sea. Geographically, the islands are located in the Northern and Western Hemispheres of the Earth. The Cayman Islands are located north of Panama; To the northeast of Costa Rica. To the south of Cuba. To the east of the state of Quintana Roo and the state of Yucatan; And northwest of Jamaica. The Cayman Islands are surrounded by the Caribbean Sea.

Regional maps: Map of North America

Outline map of the Cayman Islands

Key facts

Legal name Cayman Islands
Cayman Islands flag
Capital George Town (on Grand Cayman)
19 18N, 81 23W
The total area 264.00 km2
Land area 264.00 km2
Water area nothing
population 64,948
currency Caymanian dollar (KYD)
gross domestic product $5.49 billion
GDP per capita $85,477.29

This page was last updated on December 16, 2023

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *